graphic graphic

Meeting Abstracts from Past Years

Anitque Typewriter

Click on a year to download a PDF containing the abstracts of presentations made at the chosen meeting.

2018 Abstract Book
2017 Abstract Book
2016 Abstract Book
2015 Abstract Book
2014 Abstract Book
2013 Abstract Book

Arthur M. Shipley
Award for Best Scientific Paper

Dr. Arthur M. Shipley, 1878-1955, is regarded as one of the outstanding teachers of surgery of his time. He was elected to membership in the SSA in 1927. In response to a donation by one of his residents, the council established the Shipley Award to honor the best scientific paper presentation by a new member. Each year since 1957 the SSA has awarded this gold medal to a presenter in their first two years of membership. The Shipley Award has become one of the major highlights of the annual meeting and known as a distinction of astute surgical scholarship.

Shipley Award Winner

Ronda S. Henry-Tillman of Little Rock, AR receives the 2014 Shipley Award.

View past winners of the Shipley Award —grouped by decade.

Close List

Year Name City State
2017 Emad Kandil New Orleans LA
2016 Waddah B. Al-Refaie Washington DC
2015 Mary E. Klingensmith St. Louis MO
2014 Ronda S. Henry-Tillman Little Rock AR
2013 Keith A. Delman Atlanta GA
2012 Curtis P. Artz Birmingham AL
2011 William B. Inabnet, III New York NY
2010 Nancy D. Perrier Houston TX

Close List

Year Name City State
2009 Taylor S. Riall Galveston TX
2008 Ronald H. Clements Birmingham AL
2007 Steve Eubanks Columbia MO
2006 Devin E. Eckhoff Birmingham AL
2005 Tien C. Ko Galveston TX
2004 Dai H. Chung Galveston TX
2003 Charles D. Fraser, Jr. Houston TX
2002 Yuman Fong New York NY
2001 Benjamin D.L. Li Shreveport LA
2000 F. Charles Brunicardi Houston TX

Close List

Year Name City State
1999 Douglas S. Reintgen Tampa FL
1998 Keith E. Georgeson Birmingham AL
1997 John H. Pemberton Rochester MN
1996 William G. Cheadle Louisville KY
1995 B. Mark Evers Galveston TX
1994 Jeffrey A. Norton Clayton MO
1993 Bruce G. Wolff Rochester MN
1992 Achilles Demetriou Los Angeles CA
1991 John B. Hanks Charlottesville VA
1990 Larry H. Hollier New Orleans LA

Close List

Year Name City State
1989 Irving L. Kron Charlottesville VA
1988 Henry A. Pitt Baltimore MD
1987 David V. Feliciano Houston TX
1986 Gregory B. Bulkley Baltimore MD
1985 Robert E. Condon Milwaukee WI
1984 Robert C. Batson New Orleans LA
1983 Walter G. Wolfe Durham NC
1982 Robert H. Jones Durham NC
1981 J. David Richardson Louisville KY
1980 Richard E. Clark St. Louis MO

Close List

Year Name City State
1979 Robert K. Brawley Baltimore MD
1978 Wallace P. Ritchie, Jr. Charlottesville VA
1977 Jonathan A. van Heerden Rochester MA
1976 M. J. Jurkiewicz Atlanta GA
1975 James C. Thompson Galveston TX
1974 George A. Higgins Jr. Washington DC
1973 George A. Hallenbeck Birmingham AL
1972 K. Alvin Merendino Seattle WA
1971 John C. McDonald New Orleans LA
1970 Edward R. Woodward Gainesville FL

Close List

Year Name City State
1969 Norman C. Nelson New Orleans LA
1968 John W. Kirklin Birmingham AL
1967 Carl W. Hughes Washington DC
1966 Lloyd M. Nyhus Chicago IL
1965 G. Rainey Williams Oklahoma City OK
1964 Frank C. Spencer Lexington KY
1963 Ben Eiseman Lexington KY
1962 Edward T. Krementz New Orleans LA
1961 Osler A. Abbott Atlanta GA
1960 Watts R. Webb Jackson MS

Close List

Year Name City State
1959 William W. Shingleton Durham NC
1958 Curtis P.. Artz Jackson MS
1957 Felda Hightower Winston-Salem NC
SAA SAA SAA graphic